The Ruins of Winter Palace are located in the eastern part of Haidian District.
The Winter Palace, first built in 1709, and its construction lasted over a period of 150 years. It was made up of three gardens, namely Circular Bright Garden, Garden of Permanent Spring and Garden of Gorgeous Spring, with the Circular Bright Garden being the largest. In its prime period, it was famed as “the Grandest among Tens of Thousands of Gardens”for its immense dimension, peculiar design, exquisite techniques, elegant landscape and numerous collections. However, the palace underwent savage plundering twice respectively by the Anglo-French Allied Army in 1860 and the Eight-Power Allied Forces in 1900, which reduced the palace to a demolition.
Now the ruins have been kept as a key historical relics unit under state protection and an educational base for patriotism.